Thread: Ruger Double Action Revolvers Quiz!

Ruger Double Action Revolvers Quiz!

I am semi-retired and I am taking a self-passed and self-taught Armorers course and now I am on the Ruger Double Action Revolvers. I hope to become a part-time light Gunsmith in the near future.

There are over 60 quiz questions covering this firearm and I have answered most of them hopefully correctly but during my study and research I am having some problems related to some of the following quiz questions. I have conflicting answers.

Can you help me determine the correct answers for these few quiz questions?

Thanks for your help.

Note #9. Looking from the shooter's perspective, what direction does the cylinder rotate when the trigger is pulled?
    a) Clockwise
    b) Counter clockwise

Note #10. What would a wider hand (pawl) do?
    a) Cause the cylinder to rotate sooner
    b) Cause the cylinder to rotate later
    c) Cause the cylinder to not rotate as far
    d) Cause the cylinder to rotate farther

Note #11. What holds the crane tight against the frame?
    a) A crane screw
    b) Loctite
    c) A spring and plunger
    d) Nothing, as the crane should never be tight against the frame

Note #12. What provides power to the hammer?
    a) The sear spring
    b) The mainspring
    c) The box spring

Note #13. The nose of the hammer is the firing pin. True or false

Note #14. The trigger guard is held in place by a plunger. True or false

Note #15. What holds the firing pin in place?
    a) A bushing
    b) A screw
    c) Nothing it is the nose of the hammer

Note #16. What causes the hand (pawl) to move? (Select the best or most complete answer)
    a) Pulling the trigger
    b) Manually cocking the hammer
    c) Both a and b
    d) Neither a or b

I'll take a stab at a few of them. I'm fairly confident with my answers but not positive on a couple.

Quote Originally Posted by hoppy70 View Post