Page 1 of 9 123 ... LastLast

Thread: RFI: the reasoning behind the DAO service pistol "wave" of the late 80s/ear90s

RFI: the reasoning behind the DAO service pistol "wave" of the late 80s/ear90s

I`m working on a piece for a blog that's an overview of handgun action types, and I would be most grateful for anyone who has first hand experience on the "why" of the transition of some LE organizations to DAO around this time.

My recollection from reading gun rags at the time is that it happened in response to the idea that the adoption of semiautos had massively increased the number of civilian deaths to LE letting a round loose when they didn't mean to, and it was mostly pushed in more left-leaning areas.

But I have no first hand experience on the topic, and memory is a tricky thing. I would like to have some more solid info than my hazy recollections of reading Mas 30 years back.

Thanks in advance!
    REPETITION CREATES BELIEF
    REPETITION BUILDS THE SEPARATE WORLDS WE LIVE AND DIE IN
    NO EXCEPTIONS

Site Supporter
    Quote Originally Posted by Baldanders View Post
    I`m working on a piece for a blog that's an overview of handgun action types, and I would be most grateful for anyone who has first hand experience on the "why" of the transition of some LE organizations to DAO around this time.

My recollection from reading gun rags at the time is that it happened in response to the idea that the adoption of semiautos had massively increased the number of civilian deaths to LE letting a round loose when they didn't mean to, and it was mostly pushed in more left-leaning areas.

But I have no first hand experience on the topic, and memory is a tricky thing. I would like to have some more solid info than my hazy recollections of reading Mas 30 years back.

Thanks in advance!