Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Fiocchi 357 Magnum JHP 148gr and 158gr. Any Users? Good for Self Defense?

Fiocchi 357 Magnum JHP 148gr and 158gr. Any Users? Good for Self Defense?

Hello,

Has anyone used/tested Fiocchi's 357 magnum JHP offerings in 148gr and 158gr? These had been some reasonably priced JHP rounds pre-pandemic but I could never find any testing on them. I'm particularly interested to see how they function out of a 4in barrel. Do they reliably expand? Do they over penetrate in gel?

Even if you have run them in another barrel length, feel free to chime in. I purchased a few boxes but have yet to run them at the range. I don't have access to a chronograph or ballistic gel, though.

Do any of you recommend Fiocchi in general for a 357 mag self defense round?

Here are the rounds in question on their website:

https://fiocchiusa.com/357-magnum-14...x-20bx-cs.html
    https://fiocchiusa.com/357-magnum-15...x-20bx-cs.html

I also have no chrono, and I have no experience with these two (fairly recent?) loads.

But the Extrema .357 158 grain load by Fiocchi is about the mildest recoiling .357 I have shot---milder than Gold Dot short barrel .357 and it feels like a warm .38+p in my 2" 640 Pro. No idea if the XTP bullet will expand much at that low velocity. Their 140 grain FMJ felt similar in recoil impulse.

In general, Euro JHP not using American-made bullets seems to not expand worth a damn. I can attest that is the case with 10mm PPU 180 grain JHP which zips through 3 jugs of big kitty litter filled with water the long way leaving pinholes as it penetrates. (didn't recover any bullets)

In a 4" gun, my choice out of the .357 I have lying around would be short barrel Gold Dot or Critical Duty. Stiffer recoil than the Extrema, but still not bad even in my 640. Both seem fine in gel tests.
    REPETITION CREATES BELIEF
    REPETITION BUILDS THE SEPARATE WORLDS WE LIVE AND DIE IN
    NO EXCEPTIONS