Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Recommend first pistol purchase for total noob

Recommend first pistol purchase for total noob

I'm a total noob looking to try out competition shooting. Which direction should I go on my first pistol purchase?

I've seen some recommendations to start with 22lr, like a Ruger Mark IV (Target with bull barrel?). Logic being: it's good for beginners to learn the fundamentals, ammo is cheaper, and everyone should own a Ruger Mark IV

Is that the unanimous, undisputed advice? Or is the reality that people who start with 22lr get bored quickly and immediately upgrade to 9mm? I must admit my 10/22 isn't as fun as my Ruger PCC. I could also see just buying a Glock 34 and a sh!t ton of magazines that I can share with my Ruger PCC. Then, once I demonstrate a basic level of competence I begin thinking about whether I want something less boring than a Glock.

I'll be joining a club near me that does a bit of everything. Steel Challenge, IDPA, USPSA, 2700. I cant' join yet though because I don't yet have my pistol permit. (It's been in process 8 months now, and I'm I have 2-3 left. So this is all just pre-planning and living vicariously while I pass the time waiting for the permit to arrive)

If you want a Glock 34, buy a Glock 34. It's an easy gun to shoot and (during normal riot-free times) cheap to get into.

If you want a 22LR for practice, get a Glock 44 for commonality. They are about as reliable as rimfire pistols get and have much better ergos vs the Ruger.

ETA: don't worry about getting bored with the 34. It's a completely capable competition gun. Start shooting production in USPSA. If you get bored, get into Carry Optics and put a red dot on top. There are plenty of dudes who shred with a basic Glock at a very high level in USPSA.

Welcome!

I can’t speak for IDPA, but you won’t be able to shoot USPSA with a .22.

What sort of pistol shooting have you done previously?

Quote Originally Posted by RJ View Post
    Welcome!
    Thanks!