Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Difference in Federal 9mm HST labels

Site Supporter

Difference in Federal 9mm HST labels

Because I'm new to this world and don't have any kind of ammo stockpile, I've been slowly building up a small pile of 9mm by stopping at a few local stores every now and then. A few days ago, when I stopped in, the store had a display of 115 grain 9mm fmj. 50 round boxes for $25. This seemed pretty high, but there's a shortage, and I expect they're paying more than normal themselves. Anyway, I bypassed this table and went to the diminished defensive ammo section, and they had 147 grain federal hst 9mm in 50 round boxes for $35. Seemed reasonable to get the better ammo for a modest increase in price.

Anyway, the boxes of Federal HST I got recently looked different than ones I've purchased previously. Both say "Federal HST Premium Law Enforcement" somewhere on the box, but the more recently purchased box has "Law Enforcement" on a blue line across the box, and the box is is slightly smaller. Both are 147 grain 9mm, both have the same listed velocities on the box. The rounds themselves don't look any different to my undiscerning eye. Any idea as to why the boxes look different? Could it be an older batch?

Thanksfor the help.

Not at all uncommon for the ammo companies to modify their packaging from time to time without making any real change to the product.

Gucci gear, Walmart skill Darth_Uno's Avatar
    At one time, and maybe still now, the 50 round boxes were for LE and the 20’s were for the civilian market. That’s not a firm rule, it’s just how Federal packaged it. At one point they may have added or taken off “Law Enforcement” from the packaging, as well as other design changes.

As above.

Federal seems to make packaging changes on an evolutionary basis.

I would snap up any Federal HST 147 in 50 round boxes for $35, for sure. I bought some online from targetsportsusa.com a few months ago for $39.99/50.

Site Supporter