Page 1 of 12 12311 ... LastLast

Thread: Subaru Outback, Forester or Rav4??

Subaru Outback, Forester or Rav4??

Slightly different question from JodyH.

I'm considering either a Subaru Outback, Subaru Forester or a Toyota Rav4. Late model, low mileage used or new 2020 or 2021.

I've been driving Toyota's since 1977. Never had a bad one. My daily driver has been a Sienna van with the third row seat for the last 6 years. My wife got a new Highlander a couple of years ago. She passed her 2016 Subaru Legacy to one of the kids. Another kid just had twins and I'm going to pass the Sienna van to her. A year ago we bought a used 2012 Toyota Tundra just to have a truck around. It's a really big truck. I'm thinking about trading the Tundra in on something a little smaller for myself. Since the kids don't ride with us as much, I don't need the third row seat.

I would seriously consider a Rav4 but every time I look at the newer ones, I'm reminded of a Star Wars Storm Trooper. All wheel or 4 wheel drive is a must. I need something that can hold all my crap when I go to the range. 4Runner and Highlander might be out of my price range unless I could find a good deal and they might be a little bigger than I want. We get our vehicles serviced by the dealer at the proper times and repaired by the dealer, but that doesn't seem to be needed much. My wife ran her 2002 Highlander to 250,000 miles.

Outback seems like the best choice so far, but I haven't driven any of them yet. Any info on the new 2.4 turbo engine?

Don't forget about the Toyota Venza and Lexus RX. I have been super happy with my 2009 Venza, 176K miles and still drives great. It has lots of room for taking stuff to the range and the seats fold flat with the pull of a handle.
    -Seconds Count. Misses Don't-