Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Thread: BS at work

BS at work

more of a venting type of post. So I have been teaching 4th grade at the same school for two years. This will be my third year at the school. Given COVID, we are starting hybrid (some days in class and some days at home on a chromebook). I was sold this as a reason to come back to the school and not pursue a different career as I hated teaching online. Well I just found out on Saturday out of the 6 teachers in 4th and 5th, I will be teaching online potentionally all year. I have a good relationship with my boss but this decision seems like a stab in the back and goes against the promises i was made prior to the school year starting. At this point I am pretty much locked into doing this since I have two kids and am a single dad.

Sorry just had to vent and am seriously pissed off at work.

My wife and daughter teach at the same elementary school.

My daughter will teach on-line all year. My wife will be in the classroom.

The principal asked for volunteers to teach on-line, but nobody volunteered, so she picked who would do on-line teaching.

Whether ironic or not, I find it interesting the state teachers union is suing the state to not open schools due to Corona Virus safety concerns, yet practically none of the teachers in this particular school were interested in the potential added safety of teaching on-line.

My wife is a teacher. She did not want to come into the classroom, nor did most of her co-workers. A couple of weeks ago the county made the decision that all teaching will be done online initially. We are going to make a little classroom for her here at home.

Glock Collective Assimile Suvorov's Avatar
    Escapee from the SF Bay Area now living on the Front Range of Colorado.
    Quote Originally Posted by breakingtime91 View Post