Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Fasting and weight lifting

Modding this sack of shit BehindBlueI's's Avatar

Fasting and weight lifting

I'm not a novice to fasting, but I'm used to no liquids while fasting as well so that tends to limit my physical activity as sweating becomes problematic. I have zero experience weight lifting while just food-fasting until this week (see my post in Daily BS about getting the deal of the century on a smith machine)

I noticed that I feel really good today after weight lifting despite 24 hours fasting (food fasting, still drinking) at this point and only 1k-ish calories for several days before that.

While trying to do a bit of research, I ran across this: https://www.prospectmedical.com/reso...ittent-fasting

Many people obsess over calories in versus out, and fear muscle loss that theoretically happens when you exercise without having refueled. But when you understand the beneficial impact that exercising during a fasted state has on the body’s hormones, you’ll see that fasting and exercise aren’t only OK, they are actually the optimal way to boost your health and body composition.
    What does the PF hive mind say?
    Sorta around sometimes for some of your shitty mod needs.

Site Supporter
    I often workout during my daily 16-hr fast, and sometimes several hours before I eat. I like it a lot. A few years ago, I thought that I had to have something in my stomach to help « fuel » the workout, but that has proven false for me. I have plenty of energy to lift fasted—maybe even more energy than I did when I ate beforehand.

Student
    Do you mind coffee? Black coffee will go a long way during the fast period.