After-Action Report (AAR): Advanced Skills and Tactics
Hosted by FPF Training
Mead Hall Range
McLoud, OK
June 6-7, 2020

My Background: I have been embedded in the firearms industry since 2013, and have since worked at two local indoor ranges while simultaneously managing a small holster company. I started my training journey in early 2015 with classes at a local school and have sought out further instruction ever since. I have attended Tac-Con three times and trained with Oklahoma Shoot Skills, John Farnam, Kyle Defoor, Spencer Keepers, William Aprill, Ernest Langdon (three times), Mike Pannone, Gabe White (three times), Kita Busse, Caleb Causey, Steve Moses, and now John Murphy, among others (who I know I am forgetting). Although I am not an expert, neither am I a novice.

Location: I cannot do this AAR justice without talking about the range. I have spent many hours on outdoor ranges and countless more on indoor ranges, but as a training destination, I cannot say enough about what Bill has done with Mead Hall. I have personally seen how far it has come since the beginning, and I am truly impressed with what it has developed into – and I look forward to seeing it continue to evolve in the coming years. The classroom is a large structure, comfortably air-conditioned, that features both men’s and women’s bathrooms, along with a full kitchen. Thought has been put into every detail of the classroom, from comfortable seating to floor-mounted electrical outlets that allow students to easily plug in equipment – this is very much a facility built by a longtime student. Then there is the 300-yard range itself, which includes a mobile awning (to shade the firing line from direct sun), another set of air-conditioned men’s and women’s bathrooms, and a comfortably insulated, fan-cooled rest pavilion at the 50-yard line, all of which significantly help mitigate the heat.