Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Carbine fundamentals/dry fire exercises?

THE THIRST MUTILATOR Nephrology's Avatar

Carbine fundamentals/dry fire exercises?

So as a long time handgun shooter, I benefitted quite a bit from ebooks by people like Ben Stoeger, who combined good, practical advice on the fundamentals of handgun marksmanship with dry fire exercises that I could use to practice the skills in question (drawstroke, target transitions, etc).

As I keep saying, I am a total AR/carbine noob. Is there a good carbine equivalent to the Stoeger e-books? Now that I have quite a few ARs that I have dialled in and trust, I want to actually get good with them. Live fire drills seem easier to find, but not sure if anyone have a book on AR dry fire. Have spent enough time shooting from bench/prone to feel like I am getting the hang of some foundational rifle marksmanship stuff, so definitely want to emphasize skills like low ready to first shot, reloads, etc.

Appreciate any and all resources. thanks!

This dude has videos on everything, carbine pistol, one handed left handed, barricades, vehicles, reloading, malfunctions, slings holster night vision gear.
    So why should anyone listen?

Cause he's done it all: Ranger, Special Forces, Green Beret and Delta Force.

https://watch.sobtactical.com/

Not exactly what you're looking for but I combine it with kettlebell workouts to kill 2 birds with one stone. You can weight the rifle or not, but if you keep up a good clip it keeps your heart rate up. Only way I can find time to do it often enough to matter.
    As far as the actual drills there's any number of vids on YouTube, I couldn't pick a particular one anymore.

Frank Proctor did a training video that may be focused on what you want.