Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Hey folks, can I get an opinion on this?

Hey folks, can I get an opinion on this?

The star trib in mnpls published this story:

https://www.startribune.com/officers...est/571105692/

It’s been confirmed that the orders came from a state-run command center, and it was MN highway and Anoka sheriff troops doing the slashing.

Anyone able to explain reasons why? Thanks in advance.

Well, marking a tire with chalk for parking enforcement is a violation of the 4th Amendment: https://www.npr.org/2019/04/23/71624...s-constitution

I would think slashing tires absent a valid need to detain a person in the vehicle would be...problematic.

Honestly, as a cop I have had a lot of “WTF are they doing?” moments lately.

Site Supporter
    That "mob mentality" thing works both ways.

Dave
    Retired...and getting tireder by the minute.

Modding this sack of shit BehindBlueI's's Avatar
    I can't think of a reason with just the information provided. I also can't think of any outside factors that might not be mentioned where I'd think it was a good idea or legally defensible. I could be missing something, I suppose.. I can sort of see exigent circumstances if the cars can't be towed and do need to be disabled, but I don't see probable cause that this is the case.
    Sorta around sometimes for some of your shitty mod needs.

So far, that’s sorta what I thought, but I figured I’d best ask around. Thanks, guys.

Site Supporter
    Communication is usually the first casualty of crisis. I wonder if an order from someone in the State Patrol chain of command was misunderstood. I can understand slashing the tires of cars specifically linked to violence, but this seems excessive.

Quote Originally Posted by BehindBlueI's View Post
    I can't think of a reason with just the information provided. I also can't think of any outside factors that might not be mentioned where I'd think it was a good idea or legally defensible.