Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Frangible .223 / 5.56 for a class

Banned
    holding the head of Perseus in my support hand

Frangible .223 / 5.56 for a class

I’ve never used frangible ammo before. If you were gonna take a carbine class involving the expenditure of, say, 1000 frang rounds, and you were buying your own and wanted to minimize wear and tear on your weapon, what would you use ? Something without a lead free primer ? One of the semi jacketed frang rounds? I don’t believe I’m required to use lead free primers.

I looked at some older threads here, saw the opinion that the damaging part of some frangible rounds is the lead free primer part, rather than the projectile itself.

As always, thank you.

Site Supporter
    Quote Originally Posted by Medusa View Post
    I’ve never used frangible ammo before. If you were gonna take a carbine class involving the expenditure of, say, 1000 frang rounds, and you were buying your own and wanted to minimize wear and tear on your weapon, what would you use ? Something without a lead free primer ? One of the semi jacketed frang rounds? I don’t believe I’m required to use lead free primers.

I looked at some older threads here, saw the opinion that the damaging part of some frangible rounds is the lead free primer part, rather than the projectile itself.

As always, thank you.
    Is Frange required due to use of close range steel or is it a range requirement ?

If the latter, it could be a lead free requirement or it could be due to impact area issues, i.e. a frange bullet that misses the berm will not go as far as a conventional bullet.

The semi jacketed would theoretically reduce barrel wear. Seminar jacked frangible like .MIL AA40 is hard to find. I would likely shy away from frange in a SS Precision barrel for this reason.

Banned