Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Beginner's Question: What is 9mm "Luger" Ammunition?

Beginner's Question: What is 9mm "Luger" Ammunition?

I'm new to the pistol-forum and semi-new to serious gun ownership.
    I have owned a Gen 3 Glock 19 for a few years, but I am just now getting into serious practice.
    With that in mind, I'd like to buy ammunition in bulk for range purposes.
    When looking at sites like Freedom Munitions, I notice that many of the 9mm options are for "luger" ammo
    My first (and perhaps dumb) question: what is "luger" 9mm ammo?
    Second question: for general practice shooting at paper targets, what would you guys recommend I look into purchasing?
    Thanks in advance...
    -Bug

First off, welcome to PF.

For a million reasons, some cartridges have more than one name. For instance, 9x19, 9mm, 9mm Parabellum, 9mm NATO, and 9mm Luger all refer to the ammo that you use in your G19. For practice ammo, almost anything will do but some brands and loads are more accurate in some pistols than others. For carry ammo, check out posts by DocGKR in the Ammunition forum.

Okie John
    “The reliability of the 30-06 on most of the world’s non-dangerous game is so well established as to be beyond intelligent dispute.” Finn Aagaard
    "Don't fuck with it" seems to prevent the vast majority of reported issues." BehindBlueI's

Quote Originally Posted by okie john View Post

For a million reasons, some cartridges have more than one name. For instance, 9x19, 9mm, 9mm Parabellum, 9mm NATO, and 9mm Luger all refer to the ammo that you use in your G19. For practice ammo, almost anything will do but some brands and loads are more accurate in some pistols than others. For carry ammo, check out posts by DocGKR in the Ammunition forum.

Okie John
    Although, to be more confusing, 9mm NATO-spec will be "hotter" (more powerful) than Joe Shmoe 9mm 115gr FMJ (standard training-level cheap ammo)