Thread: Feedback on 5.56 AK, SBR

Feedback on 5.56 AK, SBR

Generally I feel 5.56 is best in the AR platform. I have been offered a Saiga 11.5” 5.56 at a steal.. I’m tempted, but I have no experience with 5.56 AKs.
    Apart from mag availability, any input?

Quote Originally Posted by flux View Post
    Generally I feel 5.56 is best in the AR platform. I have been offered a Saiga 11.5” 5.56 at a steal.. I’m tempted, but I have no experience with 5.56 AKs.
    Apart from mag availability, any input?
    From what I understand the pressures from a 5.56 are higher and the straight walled case is suboptimal for a shorty ak ( or any ak for that matter) so they tend to beat themselves up faster than there traditionally chambered counterparts. That being said I've owned them (arsenals mostly) and they have always performed very well for me. I believe in order to see any of the negatives youd need to fire ALLOT of ammo through the gun and probably in full auto. For normal use they are good to go in my opinion. Plus they are only going up in value so it's a solid investment.

I have a registered SBR Arsenal krink in 5.56, 8.25" barrel. It has been nothing but reliable once the project was finished. Launches 55gr ammo at about 2400 fps. Accuracy is on par with my SBR AR's, I am going to say about 2 moa. I need to shoot it more since it is primarily a range toy.

Name:  krink.jpg
Views: 1903
Size:  60.8 KB

Site Supporter
    An 11.5in is interesting. Any more details on this Saiga? I'm assuming it's a de-SBR'd rifle that was built from a Saiga .223 sporter 16in of some kind?

I've put plenty of ammo through a WASR-3 and some through SLR-106's in 5.56, and never an issue so long as correct magazines are used. The lack of standardization in 5.56 made magazines a problem as far back as the Chinese imports, and now Polytech .223 and Norinco .223 mags (they are very different and do not interchange) both bring big $$$.