Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Starting Over

Starting Over

Hi, all. For my seven year sentence in NYistan, I kept promising myself that when I escaped to a free territory, I was going to get back into reloading. I've got plenty of reloading experience in handgun and rifle, but it's all out of date - like I sold all my gear back in 2006 before I moved OCONUS out of date. My old go-to was a Dillon 550B, which, frankly, did everything I needed.

Now I'm thinking about getting back into the habit, as my impending retirement means my supply of free ammo is about to dry up. Looking for current advice on what I should start shopping for - I know there was a big discussion of wet tumbling (sounds like a big improvement over the old ear-splitting/dust spewing nonsense I used to put up with), looking to see what the current hotness is.

I'm a BIG fan of Dillon - never had any issue with the 550B (or the 450 I started off with), but I'm open to more affordable options if there's a decent competitor on the market. I'm also NOT looking to spend a couple months' house payment on the set up, and really don't need to be able to crank out 1,000 rounds/hour. I'm also looking for a one-stop press solution, not interested in setting up different presses for different calibers. I'll be mainly loading 9mm, .45 ACP, and 5.56mm - with the occasional .38 thrown in for spice.

Thanks in advance for your input - it really will be appreciated!

Site Supporter
    Concur re Dillon 1000% My first shooting mentor (Maj. DRS, RIP) initially had a Conga Line of Square Deal Bs- 9mm-38/357-44/44 mag-.45 ACP. He may have had 1 more for 5.56 but I know by the time I wanted to start reloading he advised that it was too much of a PITA to reload plinking 5.56 relative to buying it in bulk.

He later sold the "line" (for more than he paid for them BTW) and bought two 650s with all the fixins. One was set up for small primers, the other large.

FWIW