Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Nose to Charging Handle / Optimal Carbine Stock Length?

Nose to Charging Handle / Optimal Carbine Stock Length?

I came across an old post here from a few years ago and wasn't sure if it's better to start fresh, or necropost there:

https://pistol-forum.com/showthread....eference/page2

I started shooting ARs in the mid 90s with A2 iron sights. I was taught nose to charging handle. I didn't get my first aimpoint until about hmm I dunno maybe 2007 and I continued to run nose-to-charging handle. I took a couple carbine classes with some big name instructors of the time around that area 2008 to 2010 and none of them corrected me and I did not appreciate they were doing anything different. I always shot squared up with my rear leg slightly back, buttstock either completely closed or open a single notch only, and the buttstock on my pec (not in the shoulder pocket).

Fast forward to this week and I am introduced to a local instructor who is pretty well regarded by trusted people and he tells me Im doing it wrong and I need to run the stock fully extended or almost fully extended and no more nose to charging handle. I tried it for a few minutes with him and it felt awkward but I respect the dude so I wanted to look more into it.

I came across that old thread and there seems to be some back and forth where John Hearne mentions nose to charging handle is still viable for the average non-high level competitive shooter. Well now it's 3 years since that thread started and the community has learned and changed and I wonder what current thoughts are.

I'm certainly open to relearning how to shoot the carbine with an extended stock. Heck, I even traded a friend for his Magpul fixed stock he wasnt usin, and installed that on my AR this weekend, because I like the idea of fixed stocks and if I'm going to be running it long, it might as well be that A1 fixed stock length.