Page 1 of 8 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Is Shooting Blanks at a Pistol Range a Thing?

Is Shooting Blanks at a Pistol Range a Thing?

First post for me. I am an attorney that from time to time represents people arrested with a firearm in New York City. In one of my cases, an individual claimed that he will go to pistol ranges, not here in NYC, to shoot blanks. Not being a gun owner or someone very familiar with gun ownership, I still thought that shooting blanks at a range was an odd thing to do. I would appreciate anyone sharing their knowledge about what happens at pistol ranges and if shooting blanks is common, uncommon, rare or unheard of behavior. If it does happen, if anyone can explain the purpose.

Some ideas I have had: I imagine that blanks are less expensive than bullets. I also wonder if it might be worth shooting blanks just to exercise the hand in firing a pistol and a pistol range maybe the safest place to do it. I also have heard that it is bad for the firearm to be triggered without a round in the chamber. I also speculate that shooting blanks would not wear out the barrel as much as a projectile.

Thanks in advance for any insight.

Rob H.

Quote Originally Posted by Robh View Post
    First post for me. I am an attorney that from time to time represents people arrested with a firearm in New York City. In one of my cases, an individual claimed that he will go to pistol ranges, not here in NYC, to shoot blanks. Not being a gun owner or someone very familiar with gun ownership, I still thought that shooting blanks at a range was an odd thing to do. I would appreciate anyone sharing their knowledge about what happens at pistol ranges and if shooting blanks is common, uncommon, rare or unheard of behavior. If it does happen, if anyone can explain the purpose.