Page 1 of 10 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Lightweight Colt Commander

Revolvers Revolvers 1911s Stephanie B's Avatar

Lightweight Colt Commander

Late last year, I asked about Series 80 parts for a Colt Commander.

That was premature, as the gun was owned by a widow who inherited it from her husband. She didn't have a carry permit, so the machinations to get a private sale approved in this fucking state CT were groan-worthy.

But it's done and the gun is mine:

Name:  Colt LWC.jpg
Views: 1661
Size:  62.5 KB

It has dead nightsights, which are being replaced. The feed ramp has the black anodizing worn, but it's not gouged up.

I've no experience with this particular model. Someone I know elsewhere said that I should only use either milspec 7-round magazines or ones that have plastic followers to avoid trashing the feed ramp.

What sort of things about this particular model of gun should I keep in mind?
    If we have to march off into the next world, let us walk there on the bodies of our enemies.

The Power Mag Plus is advertised "alloy frame safe."
    https://www.cmproducts.com/Power-Mag...ess_p_199.html
    Checkmate has the "bull nose" follower for the purpose.
    Plastic followers by Wilson and Tripp (7 shot) will protect the aluminum.

If you find yourself getting premature slide lock, delete the extended slide stop lever.
    Code Name: JET STREAM

To minimize failure and maximize fun, I'd go with plastic follower 7 round mags and ball ammo.

Check-Mate 7 round mag

I have used this magazine in my Springfield and Dan Wesson full-size 1911s. It's been 100% in both. I like the dimpled follower. You can see how the front of the follower is kept in check (pun) by the magazine. The front leg (?) of the follower is about 3/16 of an inch beneath the top edge of the magazine. I have tried, but I can't push the follower forward at all. I do have that problem with my Ruger P90 magazines so I know of your concern.

https://www.topgunsupply.com/check-m...-magazine.html