Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Rudy

Rudy

I am retired and I am somewhat new to shooting. After trying out a number of pistols for IDPA use, I seem to like the way the M&P pro series 5" feels and fits my hand. When I shoot off of a rest at 15 yds. I can shoot 3 inch groups with several guns, even though they don't feel as good as the S&W. My question: the M&P simply won't shoot that small a group. It shoots larger inconsistent groups.

I have been told my several knowledgeable people, that average accuracy is inherent in this make and model of gun. Please advise!

Rudy

Welcome Rudy. My name is Rich.

Approximately when was your M&P Pro manufactured? Would you happen to know if it was a ‘1.0” or a “2.0”?

Has anyone other than your self shot it? If so, what were their results?
    Last edited by RJ; 01-10-2020 at 02:26 PM.

Rudy

The gun in is a gen 1 and was purchased about 2017. I have had a couple of good shooters try the gun, and they feel it could shoot better.

The accuracy of GEN1 M&P pistols had been the subject of a great deal of discussion on this forum a few years back. They were known for having poor 25yd accuracy compared to competitors.

ETA: Here is a dated 36 page thread on the topic.

https://pistol-forum.com/showthread....p-P-9-accuracy
    Last edited by JSGlock34; 01-10-2020 at 06:14 PM.
    "When the phone rang, Parker was in the garage, killing a man."

Quote Originally Posted by rdm78633@gmail.com View Post
    The gun in is a gen 1 and was purchased about 2017. I have had a couple of good shooters try the gun, and they feel it could shoot better.
    The thread referenced above is good. There should be a lot of info to digest.

Bottom line though is some early M&Ps in 9mm are consistent, and some are not. Sounds like yours might be one of the latter.