Page 1 of 7 123 ... LastLast

Thread: New Kahr K9

Site Supporter

New Kahr K9

Kahr is one platform I've had zero experience with. I generally prefer hammer-fired guns, but I'm always game for a slim, reliable, single-stack that I shoot well. Figured it was time to give Kahr a try--god knows my P239 isn't getting any slimmer and I just never really warmed up to the EMP I bought earlier this year.

Name:  E0A0DCF5-29A3-4E1D-96DE-75FB60041544.jpg
Views: 2317
Size:  41.9 KB

I blasted through Kahr's recommended 200 round break-in period this evening. No failures to eject or feed. Two premature slide lockbacks--one in the first 50, one in 100 - 150. Could have been my thumb tipping the lever on recoil. Not sure. All FMJ, 115 and 124.

Subjectively, I really enjoyed shooting it. I found the trigger to be... kinda fun. Something satisfying about that long, consistent pull ending in a nice crisp snap. It's challenging, but at the same time doesn't feel like a hindrance. When I took my time, it did its job--managed some nice groups at 10 yards. Even shooting fast (which I didn't find difficult) the spread wasn't bad. And I think, for me, the short trigger reach mitigates a lot of potential DA difficulties. I could really control the trigger stroke and maintain solid pressure on the grip. That said, some more aggressive texturing might be nice (I know someone makes G10s)--though the rubber Hogues do feel nice.

Also... the size. The thing is small. Smaller than it appears in pictures. It's smaller than my Makarov and shorter than my P230. And it's significantly more compact than my P239. Tucked it in a holster and it felt very comfortable AIWB.