Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Carbine Buffer and Rifle Gas System

Vending Machine Operator

Carbine Buffer and Rifle Gas System

I'm aware this is a SUPER-noob question but I don't trust the wide variety of answers Google is giving me and I need a definitive Pistol-Forum quality answer.

I bought this today:

PSA AR-15 Complete Lower Magpul STR Edition EPT

https://palmettostatearmory.com/psa-...165450583.html

Will it work with a rifle-length gas system, for example, this?

https://palmettostatearmory.com/psa-...no-bcg-ch.html

Thank you in advance, sorry, this is my first build, trying a cheap one to dip a toe with a complete lower, not a complete build, more of a parting together of completed sections. My only other AR is a Daniel Defense M4V1 I bought off the shelf. Going to be using a Sons of Liberty Gun Works NP3-coated Carpenter 158 BCG and Geiselle Super Charging Handle with PMag Gen M3s. I think that's all the parts I need?
    Last edited by LockedBreech; 09-28-2019 at 07:13 PM.
    State Government Attorney | Beretta, Glock, CZ & S&W Fan

Glock Collective Assimile Suvorov's Avatar
    Escapee from the SF Bay Area now living on the Front Range of Colorado.
    Short answer = yes.

Long answer = you may need to fiddle with your buffer to optimize your rifle. I run an H3 buffer in my 18 inch rifle with a carbine length receiver extension (buffer tube) but I had no problem with the H1 I originally had on it.
    Last edited by Suvorov; 09-28-2019 at 07:26 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by Suvorov View Post
    Short answer = yes.

Long answer = you may need to fiddle with your buffer to optimize your rifle. I run an H3 buffer in my 18 inch rifle with a carbine length receiver extension (buffer tube).
    Agree with this.

Remember that different buffer weights are really intended to change the cyclic rate of the guns. The semi auto tinkering is far secondary.

Just consider it another piece of the system that you can tune.