Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Level IIIA Plate Carrier Recommendations?

Level IIIA Plate Carrier Recommendations?

After a recent situation in which, as a patrol officer, I was dispatched to a rifle armed active shooter with just my level IIIA vest and an MCH helmet, I'm in the market for a set of rifle plates and a plate carrier. A while back I recall seeing a set of external level IIIA soft armor that also accepts rifle plates. It seems likes a good option for me for the additional IIIA side protection without plates.

1) Can anyone make a recommendation on a plate carrier like this?

2) If the plate is covered with Level IIIA soft armor, does that mean that steel plates can be used with less concern of spalling? I would only need a rifle plate is exceptionally rare circumstances, likely not within the 5 year warranty period of ceramic plates. Plus, these plates could easily be dropped, etc. A steel plate, with unlimited life and lower cost would be a much better choice. Weight is generally not a factor.

Thanks.

AMI TAC3S light would be my recommendation for plates. They are steel/laminate hybrid plate. They are not cheap or particularly light compared to similarly priced ceramic plates. They are very durable and can take a lot of close range damage from 5.56/5.45/7.62 platforms.
    Whether you think you can or you can't, you're probably right.

Are you asking for a plate carrier to go over your IIIA vest that you're wearing, or an integrated armor carrier that carries both your IIIA armor and plates?
    "Are you ready? Okay. Let's roll."- Last words of Todd Beamer

TGS;