Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Which 1911?

Which 1911?

Hi all newbie here,

I want to buy my husband a 1911 for Christmas this year and unsure which route to go and would appreciate ANY advice. A little about my husband, he served in the US Army as a EOD tech. He is very patriotic, classy, and supports vets and our country in anyway he can. He is extremely informative about weapons and is VERY picky about the guns he purchases. I cant ask him what he thinks about any of the models I’m considering because he will figure out what I am up to and I want this to be a complete surprise. I know Colt is the gold standard for 1911, but with so many models and high reviews I’m torn. That being said I have narrowed it down to the Sig Sauer We The People, Colt Combat Unit Rail, Colt M45A1, Colt WC Commander in stainless steel, Colt Custom Shop CBQ two tone, or even the Ruger SR1911 (only because I have a ruger and LOVE it, as well as the high reviews).If there are other models that I’m missing that I should consider please let me know!! I’m not basing my decision off of money, I want him to have a beautiful, quality 1911 that he will want to keep forever. ANY input or advice would be greatly appreciated!! Thank you!

Quote Originally Posted by Bauer View Post
    Hi all newbie here,
    I want to buy my husband a 1911 for Christmas this year and unsure which route to go and would appreciate ANY advice.
    or even the Ruger SR1911
    I want him to have a beautiful, quality 1911 that he will want to keep forever. ANY input or advice would be greatly appreciated!! Thank you!
    Hey there, if I didn't have a great wife I would ask if you have a sister!
    The Rugers do not have the swagger that other nicer ones do, but I have three of them and they have been very good performers. Others will have some input and there are a bunch of threads you might enjoy. I am late to go shooting or I would find you some links, I am sure some others will be along soon to help.

MMc