Page 1 of 7 123 ... LastLast

Thread: NPE J-Frame Size Revolvers - Let's Talk Quality Options

NPE J-Frame Size Revolvers - Let's Talk Quality Options

I have a friend who is looking at these for a possible EDC in a non-permissive environment (work). I have little knowledge of revolvers as I've pretty much turned a blind eye and a nose up towards revolvers and fell into the 'revolvers are obsolete' category until Dagga Boy's podcast.

That being said, I've been doing some reading on the forum to try and gain some intel on these type weapons. Looking currently between Smith & Wesson 642 PRO (No-Lock) and Ruger LCR in .357 or .38 Special +P. Am I overlooking any other solid options that will be reliable, durable and shootable?

Given the popularity that older Pre-Lock Smith & Wesson revolvers have gained lately at resale venues, is this a product of mainly just the fact that people want the Pre-Lock design or is there some perceived quality issues that is driving the market based on current production issues with Smith & Wesson?

For true "get-fired-if-made NPE," as small and light as possible in a belly band or smart or something is the order of the day. Looking at an S&W 340; PD no-lock would be best. JMO. The LCR advantage lies in the sights and cushy grip--which may not be an asset, unless your friend is a bigger dude. JMO, OMMV, etc.
    ”But in the end all of these ideas just manufacture new criminals when the problem isn't a lack of criminals.” -JRB

Pretty sure I've posted this before: Revolver noob last year, got sucked into the J-frame/LCR threads. Felt/held/shot a could J frames (steel, scandium, etc.). Was unimpressed with overall quality (remember, I don't know what I don't know), vis: "Feel" as in grinding or scratchiness as the trigger was pressed, overall fit and finish of multiple samples I held in the shop. But hoo boy did they look good.