Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: I made a big move without consulting the hive, was it a mistake?

I made a big move without consulting the hive, was it a mistake?

I ordered leather pancake thumb brake holsters for my EDC 640 pro and my cw45(never carried due to lack of holster) a few days back. I have had limited experience with holsters, but the old school thumb brake that came with my Trooper mk.III is the only carry holster I own that I am 100% happy with. (Picked up yet another Fobus for my p32 too, but that's a different discussion.)

I always wear big untucked shirts, so OWB works for me. Speed of draw is nowhere near important to me as retention and comfort. I would have gone Safariland thumb release if that was an option, but it wasn't. (I imagine I will be getting one for my px4 in the future, and heck, my pt92 if a m92 version would work . Thanks to the guys at Bullzeye Sports in Wilmington, NC for letting me try their personal models.)

I guess I will be seeing the cons soon enough. Any thoughts?
    REPETITION CREATES BELIEF
    REPETITION BUILDS THE SEPARATE WORLDS WE LIVE AND DIE IN
    NO EXCEPTIONS

Watching people reholster trying to keep the thumb break from getting in the way can be harrowing. There's probably a reason why thumb breaks have fallen from favor, I wonder if that's one of them.

A protruding leather thumb-break strap can get into the trigger guard. Be sure your re-holster procedure takes this into account, and, train slowly and diligently.

To state the obvious, your 640 does not have an accessible hammer, to monitor during re-holstering. Take extra care.

No retention system seems to be totally without at least one caveat, or another.
    Retar’d LE. Kinesthetic dufus.

Don’t tread on volcanos!

Quote Originally Posted by Rex G View Post
    A protruding leather thumb-break strap can get into the trigger guard. Be sure your re-holster procedure takes this into account, and, train slowly and diligently.