Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: 66-1 out of time?

Site Supporter

66-1 out of time?

At least, I think "out of time" is the correct term...

Sometimes, when I cock the hammer, then attempt to rotate the cylinder... it moves slightly and audibly "clicks" into place. Like it wasn't entirely locked up. It won't rotate freely, either way. But it definitely moves a little when it clicks into place. This happens more often when I cock the hammer slowly. If I cock the hammer fast, I rarely experience the anomaly.

How big of a deal is this? I'm new to revolvers and just figured it wasn't a Korth, so... no biggie. But then I got to thinking it could be a safety issue--though I've already put around 150 rounds though it, with no problems. Think I should take it to a gunsmith? Or is less than perfection acceptable when it comes to lockup/timing?
    Last edited by MattyD380; 06-15-2019 at 12:17 AM.

Are you getting lead or jacket shavings? If not, it may not be worth worrying about, particularly if it is in time when the hammer is worked positively.
    Last edited by oregon45; 06-15-2019 at 12:20 AM.

cylinder stop should click into notch just before hammer comes to full cock in SA. In DA when trigger is pulled very slowly stop should click into notch just before hammer drops. If it does not pass these tests take it to a good revolver smith.
    Billy

Gunsmith, M/C mechanic, Retired Army, NRA Life Member
    "When you have to shoot...Shoot don't talk" Tuco

This is known as "Don't come up." and is usually dealt with by a new hand.
    I don't know if S&W is still working on these "old" guns but it wouldn't hurt to ask. Otherwise a good independent revolversmith.
    Code Name: JET STREAM

Frank Glenn was very fast if it turns out you need a gunsmith.