Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Question for the Experts - Can I do this?

Question for the Experts - Can I do this?

Hey folks, I've been thinking about getting into some sort of unarmed training. Here is the rub, I have dislocated both my shoulders in sports and my left arm will want to start popping out if you look at it wrong. Realistically what could I do given my old injuries? BJJ scares the shit out of me because I don't really want to get my arms torqued off. No real experience with anything other than taking Tae Kwon Do as a kid (doesn't everyone? ).

I'm not an expert, but I have had shoulder dislocation issues before. Not to delay you starting to train, but you might want to seek some professional rehab to strength your shoulder/rotator cuff area. And get a medical opinion on training with someone with a sports medicine background if possible as well. BJJ can be trained safely, but there are limits to how easy you can work.

Sent from my SM-G960U using Tapatalk

Outside of training issues, just for pure quality of life, I would be working hard on a shoulder strengthening weight lifting program. If they pop that easily, there are underlying weaknesses that will bite you in the behind whether you ever do any H2H training or not. Check out the All Things Strength and Wellness, Joe Defranco's Industrial Strength, and the Rdella Training podcasts for tips.