Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Gen 5 Glock Shooters, Support hand placement

Gen 5 Glock Shooters, Support hand placement

All,

I'd been doing a lot of dry practice, attempting to replicate a Vogel-type grip on my gen 5 34, with the standard slide release installed over the factory extended version. Validation in dry fire was great for recoil control, but terrible for my support hand palm. Still bits of my hand in there. How are Gen 5 shooters placing their hands to get the most control but also avoiding the more angled slide release?

Name:  bite1.jpg
Views: 1663
Size:  62.7 KB
    Name:  bite2.jpg
Views: 1524
Size:  55.9 KB
    IDPA : A454752
    USPSA : TY91150

Site Supporter
    Your slide release did that? Wow. I’ve only got a few hundred rounds through my 19x, and that wasn’t even on my radar.

Yeah, I'm fairly new to the Gen 5, after shooting HKs for a few years and running Gen 4s before that. Slide release feels a bit sharp on two samples I have, not sure if anyone else has run into it.

Quote Originally Posted by bpack325 View Post
    All,

I'd been doing a lot of dry practice, attempting to replicate a Vogel-type grip on my gen 5 34, with the standard slide release installed over the factory extended version. Validation in dry fire was great for recoil control, but terrible for my support hand palm. Still bits of my hand in there. How are Gen 5 shooters placing their hands to get the most control but also avoiding the more angled slide release?

Name:  bite1.jpg
Views: 1663
Size:  62.7 KB
    Name:  bite2.jpg
Views: 1524
Size:  55.9 KB
    I'm guessing your slide is not locking open at the end of a mag or you are occasionally activating the slide release in the middle of a magazine bc of pressure on the slide release from your support hand?