Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Pistol Primers

Pistol Primers

Hey y'all,

I've been developing and loading wildcat rifle cartridges for quite some time now and I know what works best for me in rifle primers.

I am a newbie to hand-loading pistol rounds and recently picked up a 550B to be more efficient than my T-7 will allow. What y'all's thoughts on choice of pistol primers? I will primarily be loading 9mm, with a few 40 S&W & 45 ACP thrown in occasionally.

Thanks!

Quote Originally Posted by RedfootRanch View Post
    Hey y'all,

I've been developing and loading wildcat rifle cartridges for quite some time now and I know what works best for me in rifle primers.

I am a newbie to hand-loading pistol rounds and recently picked up a 550B to be more efficient than my T-7 will allow. What y'all's thoughts on choice of pistol primers? I will primarily be loading 9mm, with a few 40 S&W & 45 ACP thrown in occasionally.

Thanks!
    Depends on your goals. The primary considerations are usually primer cost, reliability and hardness. If you aren’t into tuning light competition triggers, things are easier. If you are buying small quantity it doesn’t matter. If you are loading in bulk then cost is a bigger consideration.

CCI is a good place to start. Winchesters are softer and Federals softer still. This is good for lightly sprung guns. If you can tolerate harder primers there are lots of options that can save you a little $. If you are running higher pressure loads then the harder primers are less likely to flow or even pierce.

What guns are you loading for, and are they stock or tooned to the edge?
    Are you now, or have you ever been a member of the Doodie Project?

Site Supporter
    For most of my pistol loading - 9mm, 40, and 45 - I used the cheapest primers I can get which normally - for me - is S&B and sometimes Tula. Had no issues lighting those off in my APEX'ed M&P 9mm's and multiple 1911s in 9, 40, and 45. If I have some form of tuned pistol I use Federals.