Thread: Smith and Wesson 325 Thunder Ranch

Smith and Wesson 325 Thunder Ranch

So last week I not only bought my first wheelie boi but also my first .45 ACP... and I feel like I discovered some sort of lost holy grail of weaponry. I’ve owned, carried and competed with 9mm semi autos my whole adult life and while my Langdon Tactical Elite 92 is going to remain my primary carry and comp gun, I have to admit, there’s something about revolvers that is just exceedingly fun.

I’ve always liked revolvers; my dad carried a nickel M27 for a few years as a beat cop and I always loved shooting that gun as a kid. I’ve always looked at them as the quintessential woods gun, which is really what I’ve always wanted one for. I’ve always wanted something a little more “traditional” to tool around our hunt club with and carry when I’m in some of the more rural areas of Florida.

I’m a full time firefighter that works some off days at a local gun shop (bad idea) and a few months ago we received a Smith and Wesson 325 Thunder Ranch. I saw the gun sitting in the case one day when I came in and thought to my self “well that’s pretty damn cool,” but what I really wanted was a Performance Center 627 with the slab sided 4” barrel.

For starters... I didn’t know the rich pedigree and history behind .45 ACP revolvers, I always thought it was just some cool option that Smith and Wesson offered for crusty old guys who simultaneously loved .45 ACP and hated semi autos. Well then I watched India Jones for the first time since I was about 14 and realized he carried an M1917..... then I watched the highwaymen and Kevin Costner bought an M1917... then I did some research on the M1917 and then finally a few days later I came into work and saw that 325 PD was still in the case.... I figured it’s what Indiana Jones and Frank Hamer would carry in the 21st century and when I was offered the gun at slightly above dealer cost the rest is history.