Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: RFI Iver Johnson Revolver

RFI Iver Johnson Revolver

Picked up a "38 snub" from an acquaintance. For the price was excited to pick up a snub 38 just to have one. He got it in a trade, and didnt really have anything invested. I'm not a novice to revolver safety, but am pretty clueless about wheelgun history and calibers.

After a quick check to see it was unloaded, and showing them how to turn the cylinder I paid and headed home.

Some research tells me the "38 snub" is chambered for 38 S&W an older cartridge not the 38 Special I assumed.

Anything I should know? Did I just buy a paperweight, any idea on it's value?

Photos of the Roscoe...
    Name:  20190410_191746.jpg
Views: 1121
Size:  66.7 KBName:  20190410_191758.jpg
Views: 802
Size:  68.6 KBName:  20190410_191821.jpg
Views: 648
Size:  42.6 KBName:  20190410_191951.jpg
Views: 649
Size:  52.9 KB

-Cory

It's probably .38 S&W.
    I've got a similar one in .32 long
    Last edited by Joe in PNG; 04-10-2019 at 07:48 PM.
    "You win 100% of the fights you avoid. If you're not there when it happens, you don't lose." - William Aprill
    "I've owned a guitar for 31 years and that sure hasn't made me a musician, let alone an expert. It's made me a guy who owns a guitar."- BBI

Looks to be gate-loading like an SA revolver. If the firing pin is on the nose of the hammer, it is most likely not safe to carry without an empty chamber under the hammer.
    "It's surprising how often you start wondering just how featureless a desert some people's inner landscapes must be."
    -Maple Syrup Actual

Quote Originally Posted by Chuck Whitlock View Post
    Looks to be gate-loading like an SA revolver. If the firing pin is on the nose of the hammer, it is most likely not safe to carry without an empty chamber under the hammer.
    I have no intention for this to be a carry or defensive firearm.