Page 1 of 122 1231151101 ... LastLast

Thread: JM Custom Kydex AIWB holster review

JM Custom Kydex AIWB holster review

Disclaimer: As some of you know I am personal friends with Tony Mayer the owner of JM Custom Kydex and have been for the past couple of years. I have not been paid to post this review but I will admit that I would be happy to have others find out about the fine holsters that he makes. If this makes me biased, so be it, at least I have disclosed this fact up front.

That said let me tell you about JM Custom Kydex's newest holster the 'AIWB' model and my background. I have been experimenting with appendix carry for about the last 18 months or so and let me tell you I have a box full of straight drop holsters to prove it. It's been growing larger year after year as I strive to find what works the best for me as a legally armed citizen that carries daily. There are a lot of straight drop 'appendix' holsters that are on the market but are not at all well suited as an appendix holster, at least not for me. I don't see the need to list them here but chances are if someone had a straight drop holster and marketed it as an AIWB model I bought one to try out. I have stopped looking since using JM Custom Kydex's new AIWB holster.

One thing I found was after buying all lot of the wrong holsters you begin to figure out what works and what doesn't. For me it really broke down to a few things.

· First is conceal-ability. As a CCW holder I need a holster for concealment. The pistol needs to disappear in a basic darker colored polo t-shirt or un-tucked collared shirt. Concealed means concealed. I live in California, enough said right?

· Second is comfort-ability. If wearing a standard size defensive pistol, in my case a G19, for 10-12 hours a day is not comfortable I'm not going to wear it. Can I wear this holster for all of my training? Can I wear it seated all day? Can I wear it in a car with a seat belt for hours on end?