Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Hep me pick a new EDC: Emerson Tiger, Emerson CQC13, or go Auto??

Hep me pick a new EDC: Emerson Tiger, Emerson CQC13, or go Auto??

I'm in the market for a new edc folder. I have been carrying around a ZT0350TS for the last 5-6 years. Not a thing wrong with it, besides my sucking at sharpening recurves. I really just want a new knife in that general size. I had an Emerson Karambit years ago that I ended up dumping on eBay because it was the opposite of practical, but the construction was well thought out. I've been looking at the two Emerson's in the title and although vastly different designs, both excite me. Also, automatics have been legal in my state for several months now. I'm wondering if I should jump on that bandwagon while the getting is good. The Protech Strider collab has me very intrigued, as does the price!

Any experience with the above that the hive can comment on? Any opinions or recommendations are appreciated. Looking for stainless blades that aren't a bear to sharpen, 3-4", quality construction, and around $250 at the high end.

Site Supporter
    I am not a knife guy per se. In folding, I EDC a Spydeco CAT.

I am of two schools of thought:

1. You work hard for the money, buy what you like. Either Emerson would be fine. I do not like autos enough to justify the cost increase and I have accidental auto opening concerns.
    2. IMHO, presuming you have never had a knife class, a 100.00 knife and using the 150 from your budget for a class seems to me to be a better way to go.

Any specific reason you were partial to the Emersons?

An Emerson CQC-10 was my first nice knife. I'll never get rid of it, but I found my subsequent ZTs and Benchmades to be much better values, as they were much nicer quality at similar price points. IMO, EKI makes nice enough knives, they're just priced way higher than they're actually worth.