Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Go Bags

THE THIRST MUTILATOR Nephrology's Avatar

Go Bags

This may or may not be on topic so mods please move if this belongs in another subforum.

My girlfriend spontaneously suggested we start putting together go bags in case of natural disaster, etc, an idea that I naturally support. However, while I have the bags, I am not sure that I am an expert on what exactly should go inside.

I have some general ideas, but what should I prioritize in loading this bag? Again, the purpose is for 'most likely' emergency scenarios, which, around here, are most likely weather/natural disaster related (fire, tornado, blizzard, etc).

Anything that will help sustain me/us for ~24-48h in the setting of a sudden evacuation or similar scenario is sort of the theme I am going for here. I will be putting together separate vehicle bags with jumper cables, torque wrenches, etc - these would be to keep in our home.

Thanks in advance for the input!

Imagine what you need to go backpacking for 24 hours and you have your list

Food (MRE or portable stove + preplanned meals), water filters (make your water on the go, have collapsible bottles), weather appropriate clothing (spare socks, coat, etc), sleeping gear (pad, bag), light/basic FAK and repair kits, portable battery for your phones (which enable communication and GPS), toiletries, maybe some entertainment like a nook, etc.

All that shit can be packed into a good backpack with room left over.
    Semper Gumby, Always Flexible

Site Supporter
    Ever since reading "One Second After" - I keep a civilian, nondescript backpack in my car to aid me in case I have to walk from downtown Atlanta to the suburbs - about 47 miles. My packing list is what I think I need to walk for multiple days and spend a night or two on the way. Have to balance what I think I need vs what I think I can carry.

Quote Originally Posted by Peally View Post