Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: How Important is Pre Travel Weight to a “Good” Trigger

Hammertime

How Important is Pre Travel Weight to a “Good” Trigger

I have been thinking about what makes certain guns triggers more forgiving from a pure shooting perspective. This has nothing to do with “safety”, etc.

I noticed, I tend to shoot 6-8lb DA pulls about the best for pure, slow accuracy. I also noticed that these pulls have no discernible wall at the end of pre travel, you just keep increasing the pressure, the trigger moves and it goes off without warning.

I have no experience with tuned practical shooting competition or bullseye guns, so won’t comment, but I think they have pretty light triggers.

I measure a bunch of guns to find out how heavy the wall is after pre travel is taken up:

Tuned CZ 75SA: 0.5 lbs
    G19X: 1.5 lbs
    Cent Tac with TJIB: 1.5 lbs
    P30L: 1.5 lbs
    G45: 1.5 lbs
    VP9: 1.5 lbs
    Stock LTT: 2.0 lbs
    G48: 2.0 lbs
    G4G19: 2.0 lbs
    G3G26: 2.0 lbs
    G43: 2.0 lbs

P2000 V2 LEM: 3.0lbs

Two stand outs: the CZ 75 and the LEM. I haven’t shot that CZ more than once, but I got 500 aggregate personal record that stood for two years the time I shot it. I have always shot the LEM worse than other triggers.

Makes you think. It also makes me think that increasing pre travel weight to the LEM is the way to go to make it better shooting, not decreasing that weight. Increasing pre travel weight will increase overall force, but decrease the or minimize that 3 lb wall as a percentage of that force.

I think this measurement also explains why the G5 Glock triggers are universally liked
    better than prior generations. It may also explain a bit of why the VP9 is such a forgiving gun.

Interested in thoughts?
    Last edited by Doc_Glock; 02-15-2019 at 08:56 AM.

Not sure I understand.

What do you call "pre-travel"? Is that trigger movement that has no effect on sear engagement? If so, then it doesn't matter to me.