Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: NoVA: Elite Shooting Sports Practical Carbine and Threat Response Level One

NoVA: Elite Shooting Sports Practical Carbine and Threat Response Level One

I'm not going to go into too much detail with these, but I couldn't find anything on them so I did want to share my thoughts for others in the future. Just so its understood where my thoughts are going from, I'm active duty Army so I have had some experience at work, including my division's two-week marksmanship course on the M4. I have also shot a few USPSA competitions and have about 14 days of professional training on the civilian side including Mike Pannone, Jason Falla/Redback One, and Specialized Services Group. All of the classes I've taken have been either pistol, carbine, or both and range from beginner to intermediate. I've done some instructing, most of it for the Army at the battalion level but also for the last gun club I was a member of - I was the lead instructor for their "marksmanship/defensive" program, but we didn't have a lot of throughput so it wasn't anything serious. All of that being said, below are my thoughts.

BLUF: The biggest positive to these classes over many others is the convenience of location and scheduling. ESS is located very close to major population centers outside of DC which meant that I could drive there in 20-30 minutes and most people seemed to be within an hour. Between that and the fact that they split up the carbine course after work during the week, it cost significantly less time and money then driving several hours each way and potentially having to pay for a hotel, as well as giving up a full day or two on the weekend. If you're a beginner, I definitely think its worth it. If you're at the intermediate level, I think its worth it if you can't make it to some of the other training opportunities in the area and you go in with the understanding that the classes are likely geared towards beginners, unless otherwise stated.