Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Learning about rifle quality

Learning about rifle quality

So most of my firearms experience has been dominated by handguns, and even then I'm by no means an expert. Rifles are a relatively unexplored avenue for me.

I've searched about here and found the general consensus that Colt LE6920 is about the bottom of where one should look in regards to a reliable, entry-level rifle. I do recall at one point Chuck Haggard was testing out the M&P Sport line and reported favorably, so they may be an option as well. Overall though, aside from some basic knowledge of the inner workings of the AR platform, I'm not terribly up to speed on the minutiae of overall parts quality and what I should really be looking for or checking against when I purchase a rifle or eventually get in to building one.

The internet has proved to be a tad overwhelming at points and as such I feel the collective here could provide better guidance than stumbling around random websites trying to understand what makes a good bolt carrier group or what it means that some rifles may be over-gassed.

Any particular books or sources I should consider in my journey towards a better understanding of rifles and their parts quality?
    “Conspiracy theories are just spoiler alerts these days.”

Not too sure on armorer type books, some others who are armorers will probably comment. Kyle Lambs green eyes black rifles book is a pretty good read if you are newer to the rifles.

Some of my common thoughts and go to companies when it comes to rifles:

Uppers/ complete rifle sources to trust and rely on:
    Colt
    Geiselle
    Centurion
    BCM
    Daniel Defense

there is no real reason to venture away from those 5 companies, knight armament is another good one but pricey.

Lowers and lower parts kits:
    Same companies listed about for lower parts kits (especially geiselle and bcm, they seem to be the best priced and quality)