Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Pistol course holster advice. To paddle or not to paddle?

Pistol course holster advice. To paddle or not to paddle?

I'm taking my second pistol class soon an am in need of a new OWB holster for my M&P 2.0 Compact. I'm not sure if I should go with a belt or paddle holster? I'm thinking of going with the Vedder ProDraw Paddle holster, but am hesitating because I've never used a paddle holster before. What would you guys recommend for a pistol training class, belt loops or paddle?

Thank you,

Tom

Site Supporter
    I greatly prefer belt loops. The only reason for a paddle is to take the holster on and off easily.

Belt loops. Besides the superior retention offered by a belt loop, I've broken paddle holsters before when shooting from unconventional positions.

For more of a concealment style OWB (which is probably a better match for a M&P Compact), my old go-to would've been the Raven Concealment Systems Phantom, but they've become scarce, and I don't think their Perun (which I often recommend to new Glock shooters as first holster) is available yet for the M&P.

These days I'd suggest JM Custom Kydex OWB2 to fill this role.
    "When the phone rang, Parker was in the garage, killing a man."

Thank you! Do you guys recommend a 10 degree forward cant or straight drop?

Depends on a number of things, like where you like to put the pistol on the belt. I sometimes carry a OWB just forward of my hip, with a closed front garment, so prefer a straight drop. The more a holster drifts back behind the hip, the more I like to add some cant.

Site Supporter
    Belt! The more towards 4 o’clock the more cant. I like 15 but you only really know by doing it.

Classes are for learning new things and getting feedback, test out everything before.