Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Electronic Ear Pro Sound Quality?

Electronic Ear Pro Sound Quality?

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qDWvW6iGWWE

I have several different brands of electronic ear protection. I have been using Pro Ears Gold for several years. They sound like the Pro Ears in the video. I like them but they are very bulky and I can't use the ones I have with long guns.

I have 3 sets of the Howard Leight Impact Sports that I use for loaners. I don't like the way the sound is cut off when shots are fired. They sound like the second example in the video.

I recently got a set of MSA Supreme Pro X. They seem to shut off the sound when shots are fired just like the HL's. They also sound to me like the second example in the video. They even change the sound of my timer. I don't like that. Do I have a set of defective MSA's or is that the way they work.

I am continuing to use the Pro Ears for handgun. I'm looking for a solution for long gun that will allow me to hear better than ear plugs.

For those of you who have used the different types, what are your thoughts?

The highest quality set I've used is Peltor Comtac III with the gel inserts. I was issued those though, and they would be out of my (most people's?) price range to buy on your own dime. I use a set of Peltor Tactical Sport 100's for competition training and matches now and have been really happy with the sound quality. It doesn't have the pronounced sound cut off that Howard Leights have. I also put the gel inserts on the TS 100's and it makes them extremely comfortable.

They make slimmer profile Pro Ears that work with long guns.

https://shop.opticsplanet.com/pro-ea...gaAqm6EALw_wcB

Quote Originally Posted by HopetonBrown View Post
    They make slimmer profile Pro Ears that work with long guns.

https://shop.opticsplanet.com/pro-ea...gaAqm6EALw_wcB
    Yeah, I wish now I had gotten them instead, but everybody on here was bragging on the MSA's.