Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: 2 Handguns with Different "holds", adapt or change one?

2 Handguns with Different "holds", adapt or change one?

Competition 9mm 1911 is a center hold with adjustable rear sights. Normal practice 2x/week prior to our move to Idaho this past November. Double taps are infrequent in steel challenge either because a) you'll catch that target on the way back or b) you didn't miss. There are exceptions. And I have a lot of experience with this platform, maybe 75K rounds over the last two years.

Have been doing some indoor shooting with my HKP2000 (9mm) indoors getting ready for an Enhanced CCW class. The class and qual should be very simple, but I'm finding with the HK, set up for a cover hold, that rapid fire shots subsequent to the draw shot are hitting low. I'm conscious of the cover hold on the draw, but my sense is that on the subsequent shots I'm reverting to the way my brain is wired.

There's plenty of work to be done on the HK especially drawing IWB, but regarding the sight picture I'm wondering if I wouldn't be better off adjusting my 1911 to cover hold to at least eliminate that factor? Input would be appreciated.

Other factors BTW: I've got to do some draw rewiring from the 4 o'clock position to still drive the gun out straight to the target. This isn't really a conflict with the 1911 since the holster positions and starting hand positions are so different. Just a question of working the draw. Also need work on my support hand out of the draw; again, that I can address with dry fire and practice.

I wouldn't have thought at 5-7 yards it'd really matter all that much.

How do you grip the 1911? Thumb on safety?