Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Lubrisizer?

Site Supporter

Lubrisizer?

I have been reloading most of my ammo for about 20 years now and have been casting for a number calibers for close to 10 years. One step in the bullet casting process is sizing and lubrication. I've been using Lee push-through sizer dies and either liquid Alox for tumble lubing or melted wax-based lube for pan lubing. Both are accepted methods, but tend to be messy and tedious (not to mention tumble-lubing not being ideal for all uses). As a result, I find myself casting less often these days because I will have to lube the bullets and that's my least favorite part of the process.

I cast for 44cal (handgun and in sabots for muzzleloader rifle), 357cal handgun, 359cal rifle, 32cal handgun (and size those down for 30cal rifle).

Fast forward to today...

My inlaws gave me a gift card to Cabelas for Christmas. I don't need more guns, ammo, camping gear, etc. However, while browsing the site, I came across the Lyman 4500 lubrisizer with heater. I'm thinking this might be a good addition to the reloading/casting kit but have never used one before.

Anyone have any experience? Will it revolutionize my casting?

Chris

Quote Originally Posted by mtnbkr View Post
    I have been reloading most of my ammo for about 20 years now and have been casting for a number calibers for close to 10 years. One step in the bullet casting process is sizing and lubrication. I've been using Lee push-through sizer dies and either liquid Alox for tumble lubing or melted wax-based lube for pan lubing. Both are accepted methods, but tend to be messy and tedious (not to mention tumble-lubing not being ideal for all uses). As a result, I find myself casting less often these days because I will have to lube the bullets and that's my least favorite part of the process.

I cast for 44cal (handgun and in sabots for muzzleloader rifle), 357cal handgun, 359cal rifle, 32cal handgun (and size those down for 30cal rifle).