Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Steel Challenge for skills development

Steel Challenge for skills development

I have been aware of Steel Challenge for a while, and frankly found it uninteresting. The targets seemed big, there is minimal movement and it seemed awfully repetitive.

In the last few months, my wife and I started shooting official Steel Challenge matches because they were at nearby clubs on days that did not conflict with regular USPSA matches. To our surprise, we really have come to like it, for a few reasons. First, it is a work out on your technical skills — surrender start draws, transitions and accuracy. Second, because it is only five targets per run, it is very intense with every draw, shot and transition critical. Third, by shooting the same stages as everyone else across the country, it is easy to get benchmark data on where your skills are. Fourth, and this is the big one, you MUST shoot with emotional control and figure out how to hit your mental sweet spot, if you are to consistently do well (and consistency is the key to Steel Challenge since you shoot five strings and keep four on every stage). It is also time efficient, since the matches move quickly.

If you haven’t done official Steel Challenge, check it out.
    Likes pretty much everything in every caliber.

Hammertime
    It looks fun as hell to me. Glad you are enjoying it.

If USPSA is road racing, steel challenge is drag racing.

Steel Challenge has been my main competitive pistol venue for the past year. I really like it because:

1. It is fairly fast paced (no taping targets between shooters).

2. The round count is high enough (225-260 typically) that I sometimes achieve a breakthrough in the middle of a match when I really start to focus on one particular aspect of my shooting. (E.g., Sight tracking, trigger control, grip, transition, etc). For me, shorter matches don't last long enough for me to get my reps in.