Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: STOICISM

STOICISM

Anyone here have an interest in Stoicism or considers themselves a student/practitioner?

Reader of Epictetus? Seneca? Marcus Aurelius? Rufus? Cicero?

Subscriber to the Daily Stoic?

Interested in how to make the four Stoic virtues (justice, temperance, courage, wisdom) a habit?

The role that oikeiosis ought to play in our social and political relationships?

What are the best translations of the primary works? What are the best books “about” Stoicism?

What are the best blogs/online sources?

Anyhow, I’m a student of it for the several years and miss talking about it online.

Dabbled. Mostly it was ingrained by my dad who could have written the book.
    “Remember, being healthy is basically just dying as slowly as possible,” Ricky Gervais

I believe that Meditations and Letters From a Stoic helped shape me into the person I am today. They didn’t put new ideas in my head but explained and expanded on things I felt and thought in ways I couldn’t articulate.
    My posts only represent my personal opinion and do not necessarily reflect the opinions or official policies of any employer, past or present. Obvious spelling errors are likely the result of an iPhone keyboard.

I don't know how good a stoic i am, but i admire the hell out of them. Found it through internet sources, perhaps Brett McKay's The Art of Manliness. Read The Obstacle is the Way. Read James Stockdale's works. I have read Epictetus, Meditations and am working my way through Seneca's letters.

Quote Originally Posted by DanM View Post
    I believe that Meditations and Letters From a Stoic helped shape me into the person I am today. They didn’t put new ideas in my head but explained and expanded on things I felt and thought in ways I couldn’t articulate.
    Quote Originally Posted by JHC View Post
    Dabbled. Mostly it was ingrained by my dad who could have written the book.