Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Target focus shooting

Target focus shooting

I have historically shot iron sights with a front sight focus. As you get older, your eyes don’t shift focus as quickly between two distances like front sight and target, and where I used to be able to tell you how many serrations were on my Heinie front sight, I can no longer do that. A red dot allows me to keep a target focus and has been faster and more accurate than iron sights.

Two days ago, I went from shooting my Glock with a DP Pro to a G45 with iron sights. Without realizing it, I started shooting it with a target focus, and was surprisingly fast and accurate. That included shooting eight inch steel out to 20 yards.

Yesterday, after shooting the dot, I experimented with it it some more and continued to be impressed, with my times faster than my red dot times on a number of drills. Here is an example of such a drill.

Later, I was able to shoot Bill drills at 15 yards in the 2.20 range with just one C, which I haven’t been able to do with a dot. I have read that Ben Stoeger shoots target focused out to 25 yards.

Have you messed around with target focused shooting to further distances and what have you experienced?
    Likes pretty much everything in every caliber.

I have always done most of my shooting inside 7-8 yards with target focus but with age and eyesight changes I have leaned towards doing so at farther distances. When I took the World Class pistol skills course with Robert Vogel he said he uses target focus out to 20+ yards depending on the target/speed/accuracy needs. For me now I shoot any target the size of a shet of paper out to 10 yards target focus. Smaller targets and farther targets I move back to front sight focus even if I can't see it as clearly as a few years ago.

Quote Originally Posted by octagon View Post