Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Sanctuary State laws

Sanctuary State laws

I'm hoping for some input from our LEOs. I am trying to decide whether to vote for or against an Oregon initiative that would repeal the sanctuary state law.

Are Sanctuary State laws that prevent local LEO cooperation with federal immigration enforcement helpful in law enforcement? Would repealing a sanctuary state law make your job harder?
    "You can never have too many knives." --Joe Ambercrombie
    Shabbat shalom, motherf***ers! --Mordechai Jefferson Carver

I'm a federal agent, but I'm not immigration. I have no authority to enforce immigration laws.

My agency investigates and enforces laws that have a strong nexus to illegal immigration. I've dealt with illegal immigrants not only as subjects, but also victims and witnesses.

I noticed a strong correlation, in my experience, that if they're legitimately a victim or witness then they'll talk to me just the same as anyone else, because they are witness/victimized and want to share it. It's gotta be some sort of psychological thing, people just have to talk about what they've seen. I even had no trouble talking to IA parents that were technically subjects to a crime, but also victims because they had been ripped off. All of the people involved, even an ethical immigration attorney (rare) all thought I had the power to singlehandedly arrest and deport them, even though I didn't.

A good story to hear that validates what I had observed is a feature on NPR's This American Life called "ICEcapades", and how an HSI agent who DOES have immigration authorities had still earned the title of "Don" in an IA neighborhood. His feature starts about 2/3 of the way through that podcast.

They won't answer their door if you're canvassing a neighborhood and they're not directly involved, however, for the same reason people in bad neighborhoods won't: Don't get involved in shit that you're not involved in.