Thread: FPF Shotgun Skills, Culpeper VA

FPF Shotgun Skills, Culpeper VA

I took the FPF Shotgun Skills class on October 13, 2018. The class instructors were Tim Chandler and Ashton Ray of 360 Performance. I had previously met Tim Chandler at a Green Ops class where I was an assistant instructor. It was evident from the time I spent with Tim that he had a lot of experience and skill with the shotgun, and so when I had the opportunity to get into one of his Shotgun Skills classes, I jumped at the chance. I was also fortunate in that the class enrollment was smaller that day, which afforded me more time with the instructors, which I greatly appreciated.

The class opened with a detailed safety briefing and med plan, as any good class like this should. After that we discussed several key factors about shotguns, and then worked into some skills drills. Much of the class was centered around proper recoil mitigation, and the instructors spent a lot of time making sure the students could properly handle the shotgun. If done properly you can tame the recoil such that shooting several hundred rounds through a shotgun isn't punishing. If done properly, of course. One of the students hadn't done any real formal instruction behind a shotgun, and while he struggled, Tim and Ashton were able to accommodate him without disrupting the class. This is a real ability that I wish every instructor had, as sometimes a struggling student can cause problems for everybody else, but that didn't happen in this class.