Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Thoughts on coming over from being an Army officer

Thoughts on coming over from being an Army officer

A variant of this thread was posted on M4C a few years ago so some of you may have seen it already. Its pretty open-ended, and wouldn't take place for a few years, but I know some agencies have a very long hiring process. Also, the chances that I'll do anything outside of the Army are pretty rare, but I want to be somewhat knowledgable on other options.

I'm currently an active duty logistics officer and unfortunately just had to make a decision to not pursue my dream career in the Army due to a serious knee injury. The effects of the injury will be permanent, though I think they will be manageable to where I can still be in good shape, just not rucking 20 miles with 80-100 pounds on my back type of shape. LE has been one of the more appealing career choices to me over the last few years, but my guess is that there isn't anything that'll be what I'm looking for because my preferences are just unrealistic. I figured that I'd throw them all out there with the hopes that you guys with experience can let me know what is available that meets at least some of the preferences.

1. Pay/benefits: it pains me to put this as number one, but I have a family and expensive hobbies. Salary, healthcare, benefits, etc. are all pretty good and I think I have a decent shot at making 20 years and collecting a pension from the Army if that's what I decide to do. In order to get me to switch, I'd have to be able to start somewhere that is comparable with pay and benefits. If they could account for my retirement as well (federal side maybe?) that would be even better. Based on common sense and what I've heard from others, finding something that checks this box is hard enough. I have considered switching over to the guard though, so that would help with some of this.