Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: S&W K/L Hammer not cocking right

Question S&W K/L Hammer not cocking right

Ok, I’ve got a pair of stainless Smiths that both have this issue. A Model 66 that is my Dad’s and a 686-6 that was an LE Trade-in. The 686 worked perfectly before I swapped in reduced power Wolff main & rebound springs.

The issue is when cocking the hammer back it takes a little bit more effort at the very end to get the hammer to catch. I’m fairly new to working on revolvers. What can I do to make these work as they were supposed to?

This is hard to diagnose over the internet as it is a funky problem. Does the problem exist with the grip panels removed?
    Scott
    Only Hits Count - The Faster the Hit the more it Counts!!!!!!; DELIVER THE SHOT!
    Stephen Hillier - "An amateur practices until he can do it right, a professional practices until he can't do it wrong."

Which rebound spring did you use? It may be too light.
    We may lose and we may win, but we will never be here again.......

Quote Originally Posted by rsa-otc View Post
    This is hard to diagnose over the internet as it is a funky problem. Does the problem exist with the grip panels removed?
    Looking at the 686 first.

Yes, it is the same without the grips on. I took them off & the sideplate off, then put the original hammer spring in. The problem went away. So I compared the stirrup end of the 2 springs. There was a bit of roughness in how the new spring fit on the stirrup. I filed the edges down to smooth things out. That helped the spring to stirrup smoothness. So put it back together & tested. Same issue. I took just the plate off and watched how things were interacting with each other. The stirrup end of the spring is not bent as tightly as the factory spring and the ends of the stirrup hooks on the spring appear to be rubbing on the hammer itself just as it is about to fully cock.