Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Going through police hiring proccess...

Going through police hiring proccess...

So, a little background about myself first, I'm 33 and have been at my current job for 11 years. I work as a maintenance lineman for a local telecommunications company. I mostly enjoy my job but, I have always been interested in getting into law enforcement. I have a couple buddies that work for the local police dept and have done a couple ride alongs and really enjoyed those. Two years ago I decided to pursue this career. I started running and working out everyday and dropped about 30lbs. In October of 2017 I submitted my application. The hiring process started in Jan of 2018. I passed the physical test, written test, oral interview , and merit board interview. Only the top 40 went on to the Merit Board interview and I finished at #22 on that list. All of this took until around April to complete. I didn't make the cut for the July academy and at that time they were at #7 on my list. Then on 8/22 I recieved a conditional job offer, which I of course accepted.

I have to complete a physiological interview , polygraph test, background check, and medical physical. If all that goes well, I will be starting the police academy at the end of January. In anticipation of hopefully getting the job, I have started doing a lot more cardio in place of all the weight lifting I was doing. Its been rough lol. I suspect that I will be the oldest one there so I don't want to get my butt kicked in the running department.

Anyways, I just wanted to share with you guys, I have read a lot of good info on here and appreciate all of it.

Any tips or advice would be welcome as well.

Not an LEO here. But as a citizen, I greatly appreciate your desire to serve your community.

Wishing you success in the academy and in your new career.

Congratulations!