Thread: Contextual Handgun: the Armed Parent and Guardian. June 24, 2018.

Contextual Handgun: the Armed Parent and Guardian. June 24, 2018.

I have been writing this AAR piecemeal for the past two months. Enjoy!

2018-06-24_Contextual Handgun. The Armed Parent Guardian
    Instructors: Melody Lauer (ML) and John Johnston (JJ)
    Setting: KR TRAINING. Located in Lincoln, Texas. Outdoor range. https://www.krtraining.com/
    Cost: $450 for two days

Other AARs that I read prior to taking this class
    http://www.blastingbeauty.com/2017/0...tguardian.html
    https://primaryandsecondary.com/foru...guardian.3634/
    https://www.growingupguns.com/2018/0...rent-guardian/
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6eH5L8MaYgE

Background: I began shooting in early 2013 and obtained my CHL in 2014. I have attended 14 training classes (9 pistol, 2 rifle, 1 tactical medicine, and 2 combatives course) before this one. I rarely make it to the range (last live fire was 7 months ago) but I dry fire almost daily.

Class Equipment:
    • Day 1: M&P 2.0 Compact with Ameriglo I-dot iron sights and Apex trigger. JM Custom kydex AIWB holster.
    • Day 2: Modified Glock 19, Gen4: Trijicon RMR 07 Type 1, Gabe Suarez suppressor height sights, TBRCI compensator on a Blacklist barrel, grip stippling by MAC Defense, and a JM Custom kydex AIWB holster.
    • Ammunition for both days was Federal 124 grain FMJ

Weather: 93F both days, with heat index 105-110.
    Class demographics:
    • Day One: 14 students.
    • Day Two: 13 students (one student was registered for only the first day).
    • Four women, Nine men.
    • Skill Level: From my observation, four were beginners (one student had just purchased her gun). Five were intermediate, and four were advanced.